Parliament`s mandate is based either on a report adopted in committee or on the position adopted in plenary. Once the committee on the merits has adopted its report, it can decide to start negotiations. At first reading, such a decision is subject to “control” by the Assembly. The Assembly can either approve the committee`s decision to enter into negotiations with its report as a mandate, or amend the content of the report and refer it to the negotiating committee as amended. The Assembly may decide at any time to conclude Parliament`s first reading without negotiation. The trilogue negotiations are, on the side of Parliament, a negotiating team composed of the President or a Vice-President of the competent committee, the rapporteur and, at the very least, the shadow rapporteurs of each political group which wishes to participate and, on the Council side, representatives of the Council Presidency. The Commission is also present. Trilogues are informal tripartite meetings on legislative proposals between representatives of Parliament, the Council and the Commission. They must reach an interim agreement on a text acceptable to both the Council and Parliament. They can be organized at any stage of the legislative process and lead to so-called “first readings,” “early second readings” or “second reading” or “common text” during the conciliation procedure.

During the trilogue meetings chaired by the co-legislator who organizes the meeting (i.e. either Parliament or the Council), the two institutions present their views and a debate develops. The Commission acts as an intermediary to facilitate an agreement between the co-legislators. The participants in the trilogues work on the basis of the negotiating mandates assigned to them by their respective institutions: the competent committee or the plenary assembly of Parliament, the Coreper or the Council in the Council and the Commission College. The three delegations examined the informal possibilities for compromise and regularly reported according to the internal rules of their respective institutions, i.e.: